vitrifiedstudio june news

04Jun12

vitrifiedstudio has been busy! it has been a while since my last blog update, so i have gathered some news to share with you.

1.  i just did a blog post on my vitrifiedstudio:inspire blog , check it out if you can, ayumi’s work is very unique and inspiring. it has been a while since i posted regularly, but i hope to find more time to devote to it. i love sharing not just the images, but the words and stories of my favorite ceramic artists.

2. my website is up to date! with the help of my bf, mitch, we have added dozens of new photos, as well as shop links to the great shops that have started carrying the vitrifiedstudio line. please take a look and let me know what you think. http://www.vitrifiedstudio.com/

3. vitrifiedstudio is continuing to ship to stores across the country. this week i shipped to spartan in austin. i am so excited to see their new remodel and see my pieces in their store very soon. http://spartan-shop.com/ i will be sending to more shops in the next few weeks, hopefully one in your neighborhood!

4. vitrifiedstudio is headed to brooklyn for renegade craft fair!  http://www.renegadecraft.com/brooklyn . i am creating a selected display of new work and bringing my updated line sheet. i hope to visit some local shops while i am in town, and find a few new stores to carry the vitrifiedstudio line. please email me if you are an interested shopkeeper, or if you know of a great shop that i should check out.

5. i have been tweeting! and pinning! and looking for other ways to find new people to connect with. come find me, so i can follow you too!

here is a selection of my favorite photos from the new website. thanks as always to MSP for the photography!

4 Responses to “vitrifiedstudio june news”

  1. Beautiful pots, I love their pureness and simplicity. Lovely.

  2. Just had a look at your website – I think it’s simple clean style reflects your work really well. Now I think your porcelain work is my favourite! You must be incredibly organised in your studio to manage such a broad range of clays – do you recycle them? Is it difficult to keep them all seperate?

    • Hi Deborah! Thanks for checking out my website. Yes, its really difficult to make the work in 5 clay colors, I would not recommend it to anyone to try! But I love having the color of the clay, essentially be the main color of the finished piece, and pairing the clay with specific selected glazes instead of just offering a range of glazes and one static clay body color.
      Having 5 clay colors makes my lead time really long, ie: if I am working in porcelain, and someone orders only a few pieces of black or brown, I have to wait until I finish the entire porcelain order before I switch colors or I risk contamination. I work in one clay color at a time, and scrub the wheel and studio between the colors. I use newspaper on my shelves, so I can just replace that when I switch colors, and I have separate tools, towels, water buckets and plaster bats for the light and dark clays. The other difficulty is the firing temperatures. The clays all have different ideal bisque and firing temperatures, so I tend to fire all the same color clay at the same time, and work in batches.
      I don’t recycle my own clay, because I don’t have the space or money yet for a pugmill, and I refuse to wedge my clay in order to preserve my wrists. Even ten minutes of wedging can cause a weeks worth of wrist pain for me. So I collect all of my scraps organized by color, and give them to a local potter couple who recycles and reuses all of the clay scraps from studios for their own work. I tend to make forms that don’t need any trimming, and I carefully weigh my raw clay before throwing with it to try to minimize my clay scraps because I know I can’t reuse them.
      I can’t pick a favorite clay myself. Every time I switch to a new color I am always think about how much I have missed its qualities. The sand color clay is so strong and easy to control, the porcelain feels like throwing with cream cheese, the off white is really simple and easy to clean up, the brown is nice and groggy, and I love how the black looks despite how easily it contaminates everything it comes near. I would love to find a really nice cool grey or medium dark grey color, but I have not come across one yet.

      thanks for your great questions! any more questions?
      shelley

      • Fantastic! Thanks for giving me such a great insight in to how it all works! I am so impressed with the way you manage all these different clays at all the different stages of making. I think you are so sensible to minimize the recycling and it seems ideal if another potter can use up the scraps. I remember hours of slopping wet scraps on to plaster bats, turning it and then wedging it for ages to re use it ( I probably made lots of mistakes so I had a lot of scraps! ) Thanks again and I will continue to follow your career with interest!


Leave a Reply

